June 17, 2021

June 16, 2021

Foundation Announces Dr. Lawrence Duffy as Recipient of Prestigious Edith R. Bullock Prize

The Foundation Board of Directors has named Dr. Lawrence K. Duffy, professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry at the Fairbanks (UAF), as this year’s Edith R. Bullock Prize recipient. The Bullock prize recognizes an individual who has demonstrated excellence in support of the .

For the last 40 years, Duffy has dedicated his time and service to UAF by developing new programs, mentoring new generations of scientists, and helping to further Arctic research.

“Dr. Duffy’s mode of operation is to never say no if a no will undermine success of a junior colleague or trainee,” said Dr. Kelly L. Drew, a professor and coordinator in the PhD program in Chemistry and Neuroscience at UAF, a program Duffy established.

Duffy earned his M.S. in organic chemistry and Ph.D. in biochemistry from UAF in 1971 and 1977. Some of his many accomplishments include his work on the Exxon Valdez oil spill where he focused on the need to develop biomarkers that monitor and assess the health of wildlife populations. This work expanded into other important areas of research including the mercury exposure to humans and deciphering how the central nervous system protects itself from chemicals, especially considering the extreme Arctic environment.

Throughout his career, Duffy has received many awards. He was recognized by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), American Chemical Society (ACS) and the Arctic Council for his national and international contributions to science in the fields of neurobiology, biochemistry and Arctic adaptation. He served as President of the American Institute of Chemists and of the American Society for Circumpolar Health. Duffy received the Ambassador Award from the Fairbanks Convention and Visitors Bureau and was recognized for his service to students by the “Most Helpful to Students” award.

“We were humbled by the quality of nominees for this prestigious award and are honored to recognize Dr. Lawrence Duffy as this year’s recipient,” said UA Foundation Board Chair Cynthia Cartledge. “His dedication and passion for science, research and education in is highly valued by his students, colleagues and friends.”

The Bullock award was established with a generous gift from the late Edith R. Bullock, whose 30 years of service to the included service on the UA Board of Regents and the UA Foundation Board of Directors. The award includes a $15,000 cash prize, which can be used as the recipient wishes. It is the single largest award presented by the UA Foundation’s Board of Directors each year.

The UA Foundation was established in 1974 to solicit, manage, and invest donations for the benefit of the . The is comprised of three distinct and separately accredited Universities in Anchorage, Fairbanks and Juneau with community campuses located in 13 communities across . For more information, please visit .


For more information, contact Dory Straight, Scholarship Officer, UA Foundation; 907-450-8030.