March 20

March 20, 2019

Event honors 9 legislative interns

WHAT: The will recognize nine students who are getting a crash course on the legislative processes as part of the Senator Ted Stevens Legislative Internship Program. The university will host a coffee social for the students and legislators at 11 a.m. on Friday, March 22 at the State Capital.

WHO: Students from all three universities and every region of include:

  • Nichole Bearden, UAS – Senator Kiehl
  • Miranda Dordan, UAA – Representative Spohnholz
  • Jayden Hodgson, UAA – Senator Gray-Jackson
  • Erin Laughlin, UAS – Senator Costello 
  • Radames Mercado-Barbosa, UAA – Senator Coghill
  • Shiela Morrison, UAA – Senator Hughes
  • Robin O’Donoghue, UAA – Senator Kawasaki
  • Stuart Relay, UAF – Representative Tuck
  • Marc Robertson, UAA – Senator Wielechowski

WHEN: 11 a.m.-12 p.m. on Friday, March 22

WHERE: State Capitol, Butrovich Committee Room (Rm 205), 120 4th Street in Juneau

WHY: For more than 30 years, students have worked as interns during the legislative session gaining valuable experience while earning college credit. Students work full-time in the office of a senator or representative and earn 12 credits as part of an -focused public policy seminar at the Southeast. Interns have gone on to serve the state of in many careers including public service, law and government.

The program was named after the late Senator Ted Stevens to inspire public service and honor his commitment to education for University of Alaska’s next generation of leaders. The internship is made possible in part from an ongoing financial commitment from the Ted Stevens Foundation. For more information about the Senator Ted Stevens Legislative Internship Program go to .


For more information, contact Roberta Graham, associate vice president of public affairs at 907-360-2416 (cell).